Full Time Faculty

Headshot of Leland Beck

Dr. Leland Beck

Office: GMCS 547   Phone Number: 619-594-6807

Email: beck@sdsu.edu

Dr. John Carroll, Undergraduate Adviser

Research Interests: queueing theory, analysis of computer systems, data replication, and computer reliability

Office: GMCS 537   Phone Number: 619-594-7242

Email: carroll@edoras.sdsu.edu

Headshot of Carl Eckberg

Dr. Carl Eckberg

Office: GMCS 543   Phone Number: 619-594-6834

Email: ceckberg@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Patty Kraft

Patty Kraft

Industry Experience: Data communications embedded systems, Biotechnology large scale web applications

Office: GMCS 544   Phone Number: 619-594-7243

Email: prakft@sdsu.edu

headshot of Dr. Liu

Dr. Xiaobai Liu

Research Interests:  Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Computational Statistics and their applications to clinic diagnosis,  sports, transportation, surveillance, video games and others.

Industry Experience: video surveillance security system; transportation monitoring;  medical image analysis and diagnose.

Office: GMCS 531   Phone Number: 619-594-6837

Email: xiaobai.liu@sdsu.edu

Shangping

Dr. Shangping Ren, Chair

Research Interests: Cyber-Physical Systems, Real-Time Scheduling, and Cloud Computing

Office: GMCS 407A   Phone Number: 619-594-6191

Email: sren@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Marie Roch

Dr. Marie Roch

Research Interests: bioacoustics, machine learning

Industry Experience: AT&T Bell Telephone Laboratories

Office: GMCS 533   Phone Number: 619-594-5830

Email: marie.roach@sdsu.edu

Dr. Chen Song

Office: GMCS 536   Phone Number: 619-594-0788

Email: csong@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Mahmoud Tarokh

Dr. Mahmoud Tarokh

Office: GMCS 541   Phone Number: 619-594-2640

Email: mtarokh@sdsu.edu

Dr. Hoa Vu

Office: GMCS 542   Phone Number: 619-594-4345

Email: hvu2@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Wei Wang

Dr. Wei Wang, Graduate Adviser

Research Interests: QoE/QoS Resource Allocation, Networks Economics, Wireless Multimedia Communications.

Industry Experience: Siemens AG Communications.

Office: EIS 310   Phone Number: 619-594-4302

Email: wwang@sdsu.edu

headshot of Roger Whitney

Dr. Roger Whitney, Graduate Adviser

Research Interests: Object-oriented programming, Functional programming, software development, mobile computing

Industrial experience: AT&T Bell Telephone Laboratories

Office: GMCS 561   Phone Number: 619-594-3535

Email: whitney@sdsu.edu

headshot of Tao Xie

Dr. Tao Xie

Research Interests: High Performance Computing, Storage Systems, Cluster and Grid Computing, Parallel Processing, Distributed Systems, Real- time/Embedded Systems, Dynamic Resource Management, and Performance Evaluation

Industry Experience: Microsoft Global Technical Engineering Center, Shanghai, China; Anhui Province Computing Center, Hefei, China

Office: GMCS 535   Phone Number: 619-594-2014

Email: txie@sdsu.edu

 Yang Xu Headshot

Dr. Yang Xu

Research Interests: Natural language processing (NLP), Computational Psycholinguistics, Cognitive Sciences, and Long Term Historical Change of Languages in the World. He uses machine learning techniques to study patterns of language used in natural dialogue, the communication effectiveness in task-oriented dialogues, and the computational modeling of multi-modality in human communication.

For more information, see the website: https://clcs.sdsu.>edu/.

Office: GMCS 545

Email: yang.xu@sdsu.edu

Part Time Faculty

headshot of female with shoulder-length hair

Dr. Neda Alipanah

Research Interests: Knowledge Presentation, Integration and Discovery; Text Mining and Natural Language Processing; Semantic Web and Reasoning; Bioinformatics and Biomedical Ontologies; Efficient Algorithms for Ontology Computation; Ontology Ranking, Ontology Alignment

Office: GMCS 536   Phone Number: 619-594-0788

Email: nalipanah@sdsu.edu

headshot of Peter Bartoli

Peter Bartoli

Office: GMCS 564   Phone Number: 619-594-1700

Email: pbartoli@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Cynthia Chie

Cyndi Chie

Office: GMCS 564   Phone Number: 619-594-1700

Email: cyndi.chie.cs@sdsu.edu

headshot of Healey

Shawn Healey

Office: GMCS 540   Phone Number: 619-594-1668

Email:  shealey@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Jo Ann Lane

Dr. Jo Ann Lane

Research Interests: software engineering, system of systems engineering, lean and agile development

Industry Experience: Over 25 years of system and software development in the areas of surveillance, command and control, communications, healthcare, and enterprise-wide integration

Office: GMCS 564   Phone Number: 619-594-1700

Email: jalane@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Guy Leonard

Guy Leonard

Office: GMCS 540   Phone Number: 619-594-1668

Email: gleonard@sdsu.edu

Hau Nguyen

Email: hau.nguyen@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Steve Price

Steve Price

Research Interests: Visualization of Big Data, Data Analytics, Gameification, Game Theory, Video Game Design, Graph Theory, Software Engineering, and Computer Security

Industry Experience: Over thirty years experience managing medium to large projects in the commercial, health care and academic sectors

Office: GMCS 564   Phone Number: 619-594-1700

Email: sprice@sdsu.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Kazem Sohraby

Dr. Kazem Sohraby, Research Professor (Adjunct)

Research Interests: wireless and cognitive radio, communications networks and systems.

Industry Experience: Bell Labs — advanced communications technologies and mathematics.

Email: ksohraby@sdsu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Headshot of Kasi Anantha

Dr. Kasi Anantha

Email: anantha@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Sara Baase

Dr. Sara Baase-Mayers

Email: sara.baase@sdsu.edu

Headshot of John Donald

Dr. John Donald

Email: jdonald@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Nenad Marovac

Dr. Nenad Marovac

Email: nenad@sdsu.edu

Alan Riggins

Alan Riggins

Email: ariggins@sdsu.edu

Bill Root

William Root

Office: GMCS 531

Email: wroot@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Kris Stewart

Dr. Kris Stewart

Email: stewart@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Vernor Vinge

Dr. Vernor Vinge

Email: vvinge@sdsu.edu

 

headshot of Marko Vuskovic

Dr. Marko Vuskovic

Email: mvuskovic@sdsu.edu

Staff

silhouette

Naedean Anderson

Office: GMCS 407A Phone Number: 619-594-1931

Email: nbanderson@sdsu.edu

silhouette

Dennis Conte

Office: GMCS 413 Phone Number: 619-594-6192

Email: dconte@sdsu.edu

Memoria

headshot of Roman Swiniarski

Roman Swiniarski

1943 – 2014