Administration

Headshot of Shangping

Shangping Ren, Ph.D.

Department Chair
Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Cyber-Physical Systems, Real-Time Scheduling, Cloud Computing
Lab: Integrating Cyber Innovations with Physical World
Office: GMCS 407A
Phone: 619-594-6191
Email: sren@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Roger

Roger Whitney, Ph.D.

Associate Chair
Associate Professor of Computer Science
Graduate Advisor

Research Interests: Object-Oriented Programming, Functional Programming, Software Development, Mobile Computing
Lab: Roger Whitney’s Website
Office: GMCS 561
Phone: 619-594-3535
Email: whitney@sdsu.edu

Headshot of ambigous silhouette

Naedean Anderson

Department Coordinator

Office: GMCS 407A
Phone: 619-594-1931
Email: nbanderson@sdsu.edu

Faculty

Headshot of John

John Carroll, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science
Undergraduate Advisor

Research Interests: Queueing Theory, Analysis of Computer Systems, Data Replication, and Computer Reliability.
Lab: John Carroll’s Website
Office: GMCS 537
Phone: 619-594-7242
Email: carroll@edoras.sdsu.edu

Headshot of Hyunjing

Hyunjong Choi, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Real-Time Embedded and Cyber-Physical Systems
Email: hyunjong.choi@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Bryan

Bryan Donyanavard, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Self-Aware Computing Systems, Cyber-Physical Systems Management and Optimization Industry Experience: SPARC Systems, Oracle; Infrastructure, Google; Mobile, Google; IoT and Cyber-Physical Systems, Ericsson Research
Office: PS 123
Email: bdonyanavard@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Hajar

Hajar Homayouni, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Data Science, Database, Applied Machine Learning, Interpretability of Machine Learning, Big Data Quality Assurance
Lab: Hajar Homayouni’s Website
Office: GMCS 540
Email: hhomayouni@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Patty

Patty Kraft, M.S.

Lecturer of Computer Science

Research Interests: Data Communications Embedded Systems, Biotechnology Large Scale Web Applications.
Office: GMCS 544
Phone: 619-594-7243
Email: pkraft@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Kai

Kai Li, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Office: GMCS 566
Research Interests: Cybersecurity, Cryptocurrency, Blockchain Security
Lab: Website
Email: kli5@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Xiaobai

Xiaobai Liu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Computer Vision, Machine Learning, Computational Statistics and their Applications to Clinic Diagnosis, Sports, Transportation, Surveillance, Video Games
Lab: SDSU Machine Vision and Perception Lab
Office: GMCS 531
Phone: 619-594-6837
Email: xiaobai.liu@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Miranda

Miranda Parker, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Access and Equity in Computer Science Learning Environments
Lab: Website
Email: mcparker@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Marie

Marie Roch, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Bioacoustics, Machine Learning
Lab: MAR Lab
Office: GMCS 333
Phone: 619-594-5830
Email: marie.roch@sdsu.edu

Headshot of ambigous silhouette

Ben Shen, M.S.

Lecturer of Computer Science
Undergraduate Advisor

Email: bshen2@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Mahmoud

Mahmoud Tarokh, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Robotics, Kinematics, Trajectory Tracking
Lab: Intelligent Machines and Systems Laboratory
Office: GMCS 541
Phone: 619-594-2640
Email: mtarokh@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Hoa

Hoa Vu, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Theoretical Computer Science, Graph and Approximation Algorithms, Parameterized Algorithms, Sketching Algorithms
Lab: Hoa Vu’s Website
Office: GMCS 542
Phone: 619-594-4345
Email: hvu2@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Tao

Tao Xie, Ph.D.

Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: High Performance Computing, Storage Systems, Cluster and Grid Computing, Parallel Processing, Distributed Systems, Real- Time/Embedded Systems, Dynamic Resource Management, Performance Evaluation.
Lab: Tao Xie’s Website
Office: GMCS 535
Phone: 619-594-2014
Email: txie@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Yang

Yang Xu, Ph.D.

Associate Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Natural language processing (NLP), Computational Psycholinguistics, Cognitive Sciences, Long Term Historical Change of Languages in the World
Lab: The Computational Linguistics and Cognitive Sciences Lab
Office: GMCS
Phone: 619-594-545
Email: yang.xu@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Wei

Wei Wang, Ph.D.

Graduate Advisor
Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Wireless Networks, Wireless Multimedia QoE/QoS, Machine Learning in Wireless Networks, Networks Economics, Smart Data/Media Pricing, Resource Allocation with Game Theory and Auction, Internet of Things, Energy Harvesting Wireless Sensor Networks
Lab: Wei Wang’s Website
Office: EIS 310
Phone: 619-594-4302
Email: wwang@sdsu.edu

Adjunct Instruction

Headshot of Peter

Peter Bartoli, B.S.

Lecturer of Computer Science

Research Interests: Information Security Management, Mergers and IT Integrations, Information Security
Office: GMCS 564
Phone: 619-594-1700
Email: pbartoli@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Cyndi

Cyndi Chie, B.S.

Lecturer of Computer Science

Research Interests: Web and Database Programming, APEX Development, Usability, Accessibility, Universal Design
Office: GMCS 564
Phone: 619-594-1700
Email: cyndi.chie.cs@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Guy

Guy Leonard, M.S.

Lecturer of Computer Science

Research Interests: Systems Programming
Office: GMCS 540
Phone: 619-594-1668
Email: gleonard@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Hau

Hau Nguyen, M.S, MBA

Lecturer of Computer Science

Research Interests: Cybersecurity, Management Information Systems, Unmanned Vehicles, Big Data
Email: hau.nguyen@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Kazem

Kazem Sohraby Ph.D.

Research Professor of Computer Science

Research Interests: Wireless and Cognitive Radio, Communications Networks and Systems
Email: ksohraby@sdsu.edu

Emeritus Faculty

Headshot of Kasi

Kasi Anantha, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: anantha@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Leland

Leland Beck, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Phone: 619-594-6807
Email: beck@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Carl

Carl Eckberg, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: ceckberg@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Jo Ann

Jo Ann Lane, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Email: jalane@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Sarah

Sara Baase-Mayers, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Email: sara.baase@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Alan

Alan Riggins, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: ariggins@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Bill

William Root, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: wroot@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Kris

Kris Stewart, Ph.D.

Professor Emerita

Email: stewart@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Vernor

Vernor Vinge, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: vvinge@sdsu.edu

Headshot of Marko

Marko Vuskovic, Ph.D.

Professor Emeritus

Email: mvuskovic@sdsu.edu